Is God Bigger than the Fire?

Right now, my home-town is burning, a fire is ravaging its way through houses and neighborhoods destroying countless memories and lives. It burns almost completely out of control, sending tens of thousands of people from their homes and forced to seek shelter from this monster arriving in epic but tragic movie fashion, here to wreak havoc and ensue chaos.

I cannot even imagine the pain so many are feeling.

My home is filled with people seeking shelter from the fire, praying for Gods will.

But while millions watch as this fiery creature eats its way through so much beauty leaving only ash. I am forced to evaluate and ponder what I think about God and who He is.

I would be lying to my self and you if I were to say I haven’t struggled and questioned him. I want to know how He could let this happen and how He could let this go on.

But, as I pray and ask these questions, as I look God in the eye and ask why and how?

I am met with an overwhelming peace. The same comfort we feel as children when our father is near, no matter what is happening.

Then I hear him ask me…

“Who do you believe is greater?

I look at the pictures of the fire covering my precious mountains I grew up in, again I hear him ask

“Who do you believe is greater?”

I see and hear the stories of people losing everything they owned in flames.

“Who do YOU believe is greater, me or the fire that rages on?”

No matter where we are or what happens in this life, the truth is – there will never be a time when there is not going to be a monster threatening to destroy, or a fire waging war.

Rarely do we see it so vividly. But none the less this world will never have a shortage of fires, figurative or literal.

So as I struggle and wrestle, at the end of the day as the fire roars on, I remember that my hope lies not in the absence of fires but the presence of a loving, powerful God.

I remember I am not living for this world where sickness kills, thieves steal and fires burn, but for a kingdom to come.

But until then, we have a loving God who cares about our smallest worry concern and heartache. He is ready to hold, love, comfort and remind us He is bigger than any fire we could ever face.

Please join with me in praying for protection, comfort, community, wisdom and peace.

Prayer is real and will change things. We have a powerful God. The Powerful God.

‎”We don’t have a permanent city here, but rather we are looking for the city that is still to come.
“So let’s continually offer up a sacrifice of praise through him, which is the fruit from our lips that confess his name.” -Hebrews 13:14-15

 

 

25 thoughts on “Is God Bigger than the Fire?

  1. I’m praying for you and everyone who is being affected by this terrible tragedy. I can’t imagine what it would feel like to lose a home, business, or place full of lifelong memories in an instant. God is amazing, though, and you are inspiring others to have faith. You’re amazing.

  2. Nathan, your post is encouraging and inspiring and no doubt, glorifies God :) . Your writing reminds me a lot of my brother, who is almost 26, single, and chasing whole-heartedly after God just like you are. It\’s so great to see God working in the lives of young men! I am praying for your family and the people of colorado. And I also pray that my Nathan, who is 3, becomes a wisdom-chaser with a heart for God as big as yours.

  3. Amen! Praying for Colorado Springs and the locations of the other fires. Colorado is my homeland and though I am currently residing in OH, most of my family is there, so this is dear to my heart.

    God is good, all the time.

  4. Nathan! Right on! So very true. You are blessed with great wisdom and understanding. May He continue to use you mightily for His Kingdom!

  5. Nathan – this is a wonderful testimony of your faith – choosing to believe God is sovereign when you can’t see the Master plan.

    We too are praying for your family and community – that God would pour forth mercy (and rain) upon them all.

  6. What an amazing testimony of your faith Nathan, God is definately bigger than the fire! We will keep your family in our prayers! Our church motto this past year has been “God is Big Enough” and he is!! Keep on praying!!

  7. People who do not know God call these tragedies “acts of God’, yet we who know and love Him realize that this is the result of the act of disobedience in the Garden.
    He will give peace during these tragedies and growth to our faith so when the next tragedy occurs, we can trust Him more.
    I am praying for everyone in the area of the fire.

  8. God is good and God is sovereign… always. Thank you for reminding us that this world is not our home but just a rest stop in our journey. Keeping everyone involved in the fires in our prayers.

  9. Wow, I was just reading about this fire last night before I went to sleep. I feel for you and the people there. I know god has a plan and that’s what I told my children last night. Then we prayed for all that are loosing the homes.

  10. Wonderful post, Nathan. Without diminishing the tragedy of this fire, you are so right to remind us that there is always some kind of a “fire” going on — an opportunity to draw close to God and trust Him. The just and the unjust suffer together. God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in time of trouble. As former residents of your home town, we are also stunned to see what is happening. Thank you for a well-phrased blog post.

  11. Praying with all my heart that God will have mercy on all the people facing this monster of fire!! Oh may our dear Abba Father, who is INDEED GREATER than any fire here, because our God Himself IS “a consuming fire!” We need not fear when our Abba Father is with us. I pray that He will be GLORIFIED in the midst of this great loss and heartbreak. . . . I have always dreamed of going to Colorado to see the magnificent mountains and views. It completely breaks my heart that the landscape is changed for the rest of my lifetime. . . praying that God will save lives and homes and put this terrible fire out. . . . Praying for you all, may God pour out His loving grace on you all. With of sorrow for all that has been lost and forever changed in this life, but also with great hope as well. For our glorious God will one day make all things new again!!!! <3<3<3

  12. Nathan, I love your heart and I love who you are! Keep writing. Keep believing that God is who he says he is. You are His light to a dark world. We love you!
    The Weakly’s

  13. “…my hope lies not in the absence of fires but the presence of a loving, powerful God.” very wise words! that sentance right there will get you through life! Love it!

  14. Nathan, you put it perfectly! I’m all the way in Louisiana, but even I wondered for a moment, “God, why are you letting this happen?” We have similar tragedies – but down here, they’re hurricanes, not forest fires. Your words are stauch reminder we shouldn’t question God – He holds us in the palm of His hand! Praying for rain, safety, and shelter.

  15. So good. I’ve thought many of these thoughts myself. So beautifully put into words. It’s weird seeing the smoke on the mountains… But God is here too. And the fire is dying down.
    God’s greater.

  16. Beautifully written and a great perspective. We get so attached to places and things, yet God is really ALL we need. Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

